#showyourwork

I’m a big fan of Austin Klein’s work, Steal Like An Artist and had borrowed liberally from his work to explain to young film directors I teach at CCC. His infographic and breezy style is a great way to share complex ideas in deceptively simple ways. A quote, a comment – and then the revelation. I won’t go into real depth on the context and content of this book as you should buy this and find out for yourself why he’s one of the best and brightest new minds on the creative landscape. 

So, I gifted myself with his recent book, Show Your Work and once again – a bolt from the blue – a moment of creative inspiration courtesy of Mr. Klein. Same style, same quick read and quotable moments in this volume affirming what I believe with all my heart – that I must embrace my amateur status as a true artist and continued my unabashed affair with new tasks, art and ways of communicating. 

I make a lot of films because I can. I’m in the process of learning how to write critically and personally in pursuit of my Masters Degree. I’m in new love with next generation cinema and Oculus Rift immersive technologies – and Klein knows that this is the path to true happiness. I stretch boundaries for myself and my work, challenge the status quo, reject that which is not working for me – and revel in the wonderful unknown. 

Thank you Austin Klein for reminding me to #showmywork in all its warts and glory. Thank you for encouraging, engaging and reminding me that the process of mad and beautiful art making in all of its forms is a wonderful and ever-evolving Joy. 

I am so glad I am not a professional. 

To read Show Your Work or Steal Like An Artist – you know where to go.  http://austinkleon.com/show-your-work/

 

, , ,

Leave a comment