Robo Quick Tests

Continuing to build up ideas and animation techniques. Here’s a Steampunk Robot idea that has been kicking around a long time. A Stalag 13 prison break film with robots being controlled by mankind (all unseen as in the old Tom & Jerry cartoons or Peanuts grown ups.

Using this premise, I can devise a simple ‘break out of jail’ scenario emulating Chicken Run or The Great Escape. I’ve always been a sucker for these type of pictures and the POW idea can speak to our reliance on technology and how eventually robots must be locked up as they begin to fight for their right to exist.

The joy of this is that I can create a number of vignettes all centered around a main story or premise (as above) and create little web episodes or snaps that tell this story.

Working on projects like this – and sketching them out here – allow me to ‘think out loud’ and see how I respond at a later date.


Leave a comment